'Red' | Lost Nation Theater, Montpelier City Hall | Theater | Seven Days | Vermont's Independent Voice

Theater

'Red'

When: Thu., June 2, 7:30 p.m., Fri., June 3, 7:30 p.m., Sat., June 4, 7:30 p.m., Sun., June 5, 2 p.m., Thu., June 9, 7:30 p.m., Fri., June 10, 7:30 p.m., Sat., June 11, 7:30 p.m., Sun., June 12, 2 p.m., Thu., June 16, 7:30 p.m., Fri., June 17, 7:30 p.m., Sat., June 18, 7:30 p.m. and Sun., June 19, 2 p.m. 2016

When the Four Seasons Restaurant in Midtown Manhattan’s Seagram Building first opened in the late ’50s, its proprietors commissioned Mark Rothko to paint a series for the lavish interior. But halfway through completing the paintings, the illustrious artist returned the money and kept the collection — now called the Seagram Murals — for himself. John Logan’s 2009 play Red captures Rothko in the crux of that dilemma. The two-man biographical drama focuses on the artist and his fictional assistant as they struggle with the commission as well as the relationships between a maker, his creations and their audience. Lost Nation Theater’s rendition of the award-winning drama brings that artistic struggle to Vermont.

Price: $10-30.

Add a review

Rating

Select a star to rate.

Seven Days moderates comments in order to ensure a civil environment. Please treat the comments section as you would a town meeting, dinner party or classroom discussion. In other words, keep commenting classy! Read our guidelines...

Note: Comments are limited to 300 words.